Nominate Your Favorite Nurse for the DAISY Award

Photo: Nurses nominated and recognized at the 2023 DAISY Banquet include (left to right) Kelly Lee, Bobbi Jo Wempe, winner Gina Davis, winner Jess Drees, Brittany Behrens, Katie Pudenz, and Samantha Small.


Stewart Memorial Community Hospital and McCrary-Rost Clinics are seeking nominations for outstanding nurses. In partnership with the DAISY Foundation and Purdue Global, SMCH has made a tradition of recognizing nurses who rise above and beyond. 

DAISY Award recipients are recognized as outstanding role models in the nursing community and are known for their compassionate care, communication, positive attitude, patient advocacy, and teamwork. Nurses that earn The DAISY Award receive many benefits including reduced tuition, conference scholarships, special rates on certification, and more.

If you have been the recipient of extraordinary care by a nurse at SMCH or McCrary-Rost Clinics, you’re invited to complete a nomination form. All nominations are reviewed by the SMCH Board of Directors, who then select a winner to be recognized at a banquet in May. The nomination deadline for the next award cycle is March 31, 2024.

The not-for-profit DAISY Foundation, based in Glen Ellen, CA, was established by family members in memory of J. Patrick Barnes. Patrick died at the age of 33 in late 1999 from complications of Idiopathic Thrombocytopenic Purpura (ITP), a little known but not uncommon auto-immune disease.  The care Patrick and his family received from nurses while he was ill inspired this unique means of thanking nurses for making a profound difference in the lives of their patients and patient families. 

Get your nomination form here, or pick one up next time you visit McCrary-Rost clinic. Forms should be submitted to SMCH Chief Nursing Officer Ann Lengeling at 1301 W Main St Lake City, IA 51449 or